Chinese New Year and an Adulthood party - Reisverslag uit Quemoy, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu Chinese New Year and an Adulthood party - Reisverslag uit Quemoy, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

Chinese New Year and an Adulthood party

Door: Tommy Sevens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

22 Februari 2016 | Taiwan, Quemoy

As most of you know I am back in Taiwan after half a year of living in Shanghai.
China was a lot of fun and I’m sure going to miss a few things, like food and the convenience of ordering food by mobile phone or travelling far away while not having to spend a lot of money to get there.
But I’m also quite happy to be back in Taiwan which feels more like returning home as trips towards here increase bit by bit.

After coming back to Taiwan the first thing both Fang and I did was removing all the VPN apps (to avoid the Chinese internet wall) and remove all the other apps that made our phones slow.

After that we went to a hotel to look at some rooms for the coming year on the next day.
Luckily we found a very nice room. This time it has windows that actually allow you to look outside and the room is now divided by 2 big closets to create a sleeping and a living area, while the price is still very affordable (about 250 euro per month for 2 people).
The day after we signed the contract for the new room we went back to Fang his parent’s place to pick up some stuff and stay there for a day to reunite with the family again.
Unfortunately we only had 1 day to hang out as we had to go back the next day to move our stuff from Chia Yi to Taichung.
We didn’t have much time for cleaning and organizing in Taichung as we flew to Kinmen on the day after to celebrate Chinese New Year with Fang his family.

This year would be different from the previous Chinese New Year celebrations because Xiao long would become and “adult” this year (15yr) which called for extra celebration. Meaning, the entire village of about 200 people was invited for a 9 course meal by the parents of Xiao Long.
Next to that we had to get up around 5 AM to pray (well the family prayed and I took pictures and videos) and after this we prepared all the things for the lunch, like setting up tables, preparing some food etc.
Of course I tried my best in helping everybody and even sweat my ass off moving chairs and tables for the 200+ guests.
After the celebrations we left back to Taiwan Taichung and finished installing our new room.

Chinese New Year in Kin men was a lot of fun, mostly because nearly all of Fang’s family members went back and we were able to play a lot of games and do a lot of activities. Next to the usual Mah-jong and cards we walked up a mountain to visit some distant temple and went to see a dragon dance (where Xiao long also performed).
Of course like every year we went to several restaurants and Grandma and big auntie cooked a lot of food. They even though me how to cook some of the dishes and after successfully deep-frying some food I was appointed main frying person and had to fry some French fries anybody would get hungry during the evening. As I am Dutch I didn’t ‘mind this at all ;)
It was very nice to become more and more part of their family during the celebrations and doing some chores, even Fang’s sister’s baby boy calls me Uncle Tommy.

On top of all this we were very fortunate to have some awesome weather while we were there (about 29 degrees Celsius).
As Chinese new year is becoming a bit “normal” for me I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking and will write you all again once I’ve got some more news 

We are now back in Taichung And Fang is back in uni while I’m working for my parents and looking for some odd jobs to pass my time here.

Recently I’ve been posting some more pictures on Instagram and Facebook to share my life with you so feel free to follow me if you like, my Instragram ID is ttas88
As always I look forward to reading your comments on Facebook or on this website.

Cheers,
Tommy

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 587
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119190

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: