Turning Asian - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu Turning Asian - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

Turning Asian

Door: Tommy Sevens

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

21 Januari 2013 | Taiwan, Taichung

Hi everybody,

Here another update from Taiwan. At this moment there are 3 Koreans and another Taiwanese and Hanwei at our place, discussing the holiday we’ll be having in Korea next week^^
As I don’t understand Chinese well enough, and everybody speaks Chinese, I thought it would be a nice occasion to write a new blog and summarize to you all what I’ve been up to .

Taiwan is nice, today the weather was pretty awesome, warm enough to walk with just jeans and shirt on the street.
In the past few days we’ve bought a lot of stuff I needed.
Like some new shoes and a wallet. The Aunt of Hanwei bought us a desk, chair and another closet so I now have a bit of my own space.
And next to that we finally got internet ^^

The Piano classes are going well, I still can’t read well, but I’m learning a lot of theory at this moment I have to learn a girl from ipanama. And will hopefully start bumblebee sometime soon.
I’ve visited the parents of Hanwei twice now and we went to his Aunt to thank her for having us stay in the room for free and buying the desk etc.

Last week Hanwei and I went to the art museum here together With one of my Teachers, Zhou laoshi(teacher).
It was nice, she is a volunteer there and explained a lot of things about different paintings.
After that we went to a teashop together with a friend of her and we talked some more. Coming Wednesday we will go to a science museum as there is an exhibition about Tea and Chinese medicine. And the friend of the teacher is a pharmacist and is a volunteer there so we’ll probably get another private tour :D

We also cleaned a room at the grandpa of Hanwei because Hanwei and I will probably stay there during Chinese New Year. The room was being used as storage space and we needed some cats to clear out the place…if you know what I mean..

It took us most of the day and at least 15 buckets of bleach-water before we got the room clean enough to be able to sleep there. It was quite a thought job but also satisfying, I felt like an Asian with grandpa’s shorts (so the only clean jeans I have doesn’t get dirty) and Asian slippers and a mouth cap etc. eating some home made soup for lunch with the family and hearing Taiwanese and Chinese and and well u get the picture I think

After cleaning the room, we went back to our room in Taichung to assemble the furniture we bought. Hanwei’s dad and I assembled and Hanwei went for tutoring.
Hanwei’s parents kind of only talk Chinese but it was quite nice and we understood most things while assembling, it went fast and we even had some jokes.. it felt kind of like being part of the family

Next to all this we went to quite a few movies including a pre-release with one of my friends at CLC(language center of Feng Chia University).

That’s all I can remember up with at the moment, we did a lot more stuff but it’s getting too late(3 a.m.) and the Guests left. So I’ll write another update before we go to Korea ( I hope).

If anybody has any recommendations for Korea, Let me know
Cheers,
Tommy

  • 24 Januari 2013 - 09:25

    Dad:

    Leuk dit soort verslagen te lezen naast de perikelen hier, have fun en geniet!
    Het vriest hier nog lekker vooral in het Noorden, maar zondag komt er een dooi aanval! Tot skypes. Hug

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Taiwan, Taichung

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 280
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119230

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: