Arrived safe and Sound - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu Arrived safe and Sound - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

Arrived safe and Sound

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

08 Januari 2013 | Taiwan, Taichung

Hi Everybody,

I’ll be writing a blog again, I’m in Taiwan again, but this time I’m here for university exchange.
My university in the Hague and Feng Chia University are sister universities so I’ll do an exchange at their International Business department and continue my Chinese study.
It took me a while before I got to writing this blog because we don’t have internet at our place yet so communication is difficult.

The trip started a bit with a surprise, my flight had a transit in Hong Kong and on arrival there was no gate known for my flight.
When I asked the lady at the info desk I discovered the flight was cancelled and moved to the next day :\.
Fortunately the ladies of Cathway pacific were able to rebook my ticket free of charge so I only had 2 hours delay.

After arriving, Hanwei picked me up and we went for dinner with Seen and David, two friends from Thailand and Korea who’ve both been living in Taiwan for a very long time.
Of course I ordered Dumplings! ^^
The next day was break day and the day after that we went to the south, to Kenting, This is a beach close to Kaohsiung (the second biggest city in Taiwan)
We celebrated New Year there. It was quite nice, lots of firework.
Here people already started to light it from 9 or 10 p.m. and which made me think there wouldn’t be anything left for midnight. But at midnight the whole beach went crazy.
That crazy that sometimes little arrows fell over and people screamed etc.
There were also some people who lighted Chinese lanterns, but because of the wind, these sometimes tippled over or were blown back to the people or the bushes behind the beach which caused a fair deal of panic every now and then. After a while there was police surveying the beach and immediately extinguishing the lanterns, by stamping on, them after they were lid. Of course too much displeasure of the people who lid them… all in all it was very nice!

After New Year spend 1 night in kenting, then went to Kaohsiung to explore the harbour and after returned back to Taichung.

I’m staying in a very nice apartment of Hanwei’s aunt which we are allowed to borrow free of charge ^^
In the next few days I mostly spend time on work and homework as I had some assignments to finish from The Hague University  and I bought a lot of necessities like a Taiwanese sim card, phone etc.

I started taking piano classes, which is fun but since I can’t read sheet music, quite frustrating and for because for some reason my student card I got 1,5 year ago is still valid, I am now proud member of the gym and swimming pool for 1 year for only 45 euro!

Most days are spend in the library where there is internet, Hanwei has his finals the next coming weeks so he needs to study, and I had quite a bit of work to catch up with.
Next to that we go out with his friends for dinner, we went to the movies, Life of Pi (which was really awesome!) and Jack Reacher (good movie but only as awesome as seeing Tom Cruise run for the 20th time can be)
And we went to a Michelin star restaurant o.O where we bought a very, very nice typical Taiwanese/Chinese dinner for about 26 euro in total.

Owh, and the weather here is nice, during the day you can sometimes walk in shirt, during the night winter coat and gloves is not a bad idea.

That’s the update up-to now, I’ll do my best to post regularly about what I do etc.

How’s life over there?

--
update, photo's are on Facebook:
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151227723976299.451353.516996298&type=1
---

  • 08 Januari 2013 - 15:53

    Berber:

    :D leuk Tommy! Xoxo!

  • 08 Januari 2013 - 16:02

    Joke:

    Leuk Tommy, weer een reisverslag. Mooi dat de omboeking gelukt is. De beste wensen nog, ik wens jullie een super jaar toe.
    Het weer is hier grijs, maar zeker niet koud ong.9 graden.
    Veel plezier en heel veel groetjes aan Hanwei. Sterkte met de studie.

  • 08 Januari 2013 - 18:25

    Ymkje :

    Ben zeer benieuwd welke liedjes je op pianoles leert. Wens Han wei zeer veel succes toe en sterkte.

  • 09 Januari 2013 - 12:25

    Toon:

    Hey Dagobert,
    Als ik het niet dacht, bijna gratis op een verlopen studentenkaart, piano en Gym.wat voor gym doe je eigenlijk????
    Een paar maatjes piano heb ik al gehoord door de phone, hoe gaat het met noten lezen?

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Taiwan, Taichung

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 299
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119234

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: