Shen re Kuai le (happy birthday) - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu Shen re Kuai le (happy birthday) - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

Shen re Kuai le (happy birthday)

Door: Tommy

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

03 Augustus 2011 | Taiwan, Taichung

As it was my birthday 3 days ago, it’s time to post a new blog.
Last Sunday was my birthday and I’ll admit that I was quite scared to have a “ normal day” birthday instead of the traditional “Tommy cooks for lots of friends” birthday.
Mainly because all my friends where in the Netherlands (or at least not in Taiwan), there was no kitchen available and they don’t really celebrate birthdays that much in Taiwan.

So to prevent all of this from ruining my day I decided to plan a busy day eating all the food I like most here.
In the morning we had dumplings (which I also ate the night before) and after that we bought a birthday cake (Taiwan style).
After we brought the cake to the fridge and went to the traditional teahouse I went to a few blogs ago.
Here we had some good Chinese tea, tasty snacks and played Chinese chess.
While I was in the teahouse my dad called me and my mom had bought cake and had gone to the neighbors where they all sang happy birthday for me.
After finishing at the teahouse I got a discount because it was my birthday… and I got a VIP card which will give discount every time I visit!:D Even though I will probably only use this card once or twice I’m quite excited to own one of these.

After the teahouse we went to pick up some of my closer (Chinese language) class mates, Taiwanese friends and the cake and went for a nice bbq in a Korean restaurant. The dinner was tasty and even though most people didn’t know each other it was quite fun. Afterwards we went with most of us to another teahouse (less traditional but still nice) and chatted there until closing time.

I had a great birthday, but to top it, on Tuesday, 2 of my classmates, and my communication teacher both bought a birthday cake and a small gift and since we only have 5 people in our class and 2 big cakes we were able to fill ourselves (morning class), the people in the afternoon class and some people on the hallway up with cake.

I’m quite happy that the celebration was such a success and want to thank everybody who left a message on Facebook or the blog or called me. Even though it’s not the same as congratulating in person I’m quite font of receiving so many wishes.

I wanted to write about the “normal life” here in Taiwan but I guess this is enough for now and I’ll safe this subject for next time.

Let me know how you are all doing over there
Cheers,
Tommy

  • 03 Augustus 2011 - 12:11

    Louis:

    Nice man! We hebben je traditionele party wel wat gemist, maar ik neem dat die ooit ruimschoots ingehaald gaat worden! Goed om te horen dat je je daar prima vermaakt, wij moeten het helaas zonder je doen deze Sneekweek... raar!

  • 03 Augustus 2011 - 12:16

    Tommy Sevens:

    aye louis,
    inderdaad, was ik nog vergeten erbij te zetten
    zodra ik trg ben begin ik met de planning om het in te halen:D

    ik ga de sneek week inderdaad missen, zie iedereen berichten zetten op facebook over sneekweek ..:(

  • 03 Augustus 2011 - 14:50

    Ymkje:

    We'll do it all over again when you're home, my friend ;)
    Ik heb je foto's op facebook gezien en beppe ook. leuke foto's. Geniet moppie tot skype of suh. Bep en ik gaan natuurlijk weer Sneekweek vieren, je kent ons. Dit keer aangevuld door Toon, Saskia en wrsl. Floor Kuzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 07:58

    Marianne:

    Lijkt me een lekkere verjaardag... Wij vierden gisteren ook een feestje want Kai studeerde af aan de TU. Hij kreeg ook gelijk een baan aangeboden bij zijn stagebedrijf! Dus erg leuk allemaal.
    Groet, ook van Renato.

  • 04 Augustus 2011 - 19:18

    Pa:

    Mooi Tommy te horen dat het een succes was.
    Ik was even druk nog met vaarperikelen, maar morgen stort ik me, na een dagje rust hoop ik, in de Sneek week.
    Tot over 2 á 3 weken!! hug dad.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 296
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119238

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: