English Brabrabra club - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu English Brabrabra club - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

English Brabrabra club

Door: Tommy

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

17 Juni 2011 | Taiwan, Taichung

Hello Everybody,

After many requests I’ve updated my photo’s again. There now are some pictures of my university. (I will not post any pictures of my awesome swimming suit…)
I’ve been on school for about a week and a half now and I’m learning Chinese really fast. (I think)
For some reason it feels like I’ve already stayed here for a month or so.
I’m still catching up with the words I’ve missed and the conversion of simplified to traditional characters but I’m managing. Problem is that everywhere I go I keep hearing new words and I want to absorb as many as possible, but my brain can only take so much per day.

I had my first small bicycle accident a few days ago. Fortunately it wasn’t anything serious, both bicycle and motorbike were undamaged and besides I think a slightly bruised my rib a high pitched voice for a few hours I nor the bike driver were injured^^.

Yesterday I went to English show performed by EPC (English performance club) also known as English brabrabra club, in a city close to Taichung. This is a club of Taiwanese high school kids and university students who study English. It was difficult to understand sometimes because they had a heavy Taiwanese accent but it was quite fun and interesting to see.
I also went to the house of one of my Taiwanese friends and met Taiwanese parents. Who were really interested in the foreigner visiting their house. They wanted to learn some Dutch words but gave up on getting the right pronunciation a few minutes after.

It took us about half an hour ride by motorbike which on its self was quite an adventure already. Specially the way back was really nice because all the bridges are very colorful lid and there was a beautiful overview of the city.

Funny thing here is that the receipts you get when you buy something in a shop are also used as lottery tickets. You can win up to 10 million Taiwanese dollar (250.000 euro). So I’m trying my luck by collection as many receipts as possible!

I still eat a new dish and drink a new drink every day, and meet many people.

I’m sorry to hear the weather in NL is quite bad, we also have bad weather without airco it’s undoable XD.
During the day it is still around 33 degrees and it will be getting even hotter next month.
Fortunately I have the contract with the fitness centre that also includes a swimming pool ^^

Next week I will go to a traditional aboriginal village as school excursion.
I’ll try and keep you all up to date. Photo’s will be on Facebook

You guys already have summer holiday?

Cheers,

Tommy

  • 17 Juni 2011 - 12:01

    Ymmmmmmkje:

    Long time not spoken!
    Leuk je avonturen keep on doing it!!
    kuzzzzzzzzzzzz

  • 18 Juni 2011 - 15:47

    Fred:

    Hey Tom,

    is er verschil tussen taiwanees mandarijn en vastelands mandarijn of is mandarijn altijd mandarijn, maar nu met een taiwanees accent?

    Heb je al een lekker recept?

    Veel plezier en leerze,
    Fred

  • 18 Juni 2011 - 16:29

    Joke:

    Hai Tom wat weer een gaaf verslag. Mijn dag was K..
    Ik ben mijn Iphone kwijt geraakt bij een benzine station in Almere. Zo zuur. Age kreeg het goede idee de filmbeelden terug te kijken. Op de kassabon staat het tijdstip van tanken.Maandag gaan ze de filmbeelden bekijken en kunnen ze hopelijk zien wie mijn mobiel opgeraapt heeft toen hij bij het uitstappen van mijn schoot viel. Heel spannend. Het is mijn eerste echte dure telefoon en ik was er zo blij mee. Zoveel mooie aps enzo!
    Rot van je rib, kan lang pijn blijven doen! Gelukkig is het allemaal goed afgelopen!
    Ik kijk uit naar je volgende verhaal. Liefs van een verdrietige Joke

  • 12 Juli 2011 - 04:40

    Ymkje:

    wat is het rustig op deze site! Lezen zo weinig mensen je verslag of zijn ze te verlegen om een berichtje achter te laten?
    Was leuk de rondtour in je stad en om live aanwezig te zijn op de universiteit. Tot gauw maar weer. Kuzz

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 230
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119245

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: