Tai Tai - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu Tai Tai - Reisverslag uit Taichung, Taiwan van Tommy Sevens - WaarBenJij.nu

Tai Tai

Door: Tommy

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Tommy

09 Juni 2011 | Taiwan, Taichung

Hello Everybody,

-----------------------
UPDATE:
pictures on my facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150202647871299.309568.516996298
----------------------------------

A lot of people wanted to know how and what I’m doing here so I figured I should write a new blog.

The first 2 nights I stayed in Taipei, the capital of Taiwan.
It’s a very busy city and quite big during the day I went sightseeing, some important national buildings and the Taipei 101 tower (second highest tower in the world)
During the evening I strolled around in the district ximen (where my hostel was).

I think Taiwan would best be described as a combination between Hong Kong, Singapore and mainland China. The people are more westernized then most cities in Mainland China but it’s cheaper then Singapore. However most people (even in Taipei) do not speak English. There are lot of flashy billboards and a lot of motorbikes.

By now I’ve arrived in Taichung or Taizhong (whatever you prefer)a big city about 200 km from Taipei.
This is where I will study Mandarin at Feng chia university for 3 months.

The city is quite boring during the day, but after 6-7p.m. it becomes a very lively city. I stay in the Feng chia district which has a big night market with lots of foods and clothes.
So during and after dinner time there are a lot of people (and motorbikes) on the streets.
On the first night I met a local couch surfer (www.couchsurfing.com) who showed me some of the local food and gave a small tour through the feng chia market, we have been hanging out a lot ever since. Every meal, I eat something entirely new.

I think so far the biggest dinner highlight was stinky tofu(Chòu dòufu), which smells absolutely awful but the taste is ok, that is.. if you are able to withstand the smell before it’s in your mouth.
Downside is that after you finished the tofu and you breathe.. the smell is still the same so I probably won’t try it again as I have been burping all night XD

By now I’ve settled myself in the Bao Zhan (international student) dormitory about 10 min walk from the university campus. The room was quite dirty when I arrived as my roommate didn’t expect to receive a new roommate. But after a few hours of hard work the room is now , kind of, clean:)
After that I bought myself a nice second hand mountain bike for about 45 euro and all the things I need for the school.
The university Campus is quite nice, it has some shops and a sports center with swimming pool where you can sport unlimited times for 700TWD per 6 months ( that’s about 3 euro per month)
Yesterday I started swimming and after writing this blog I’ll go again (if it’s not too busy).
Owh, side note.. apparently you are not allowed to wear normal swimming shorts so I had buy one of those long tight things with a matching swimming cap.. XD

The first day was a bit of a disappointment, after the tour on the university we had lunch and a proficiency test. As I’ve had a basic course of mandarin in Amsterdam before and try to talk a bit Chinese with my Chinese friends in the Hague I expected to score just above beginner level.
However the test showed that I basically didn’t know any Chinese at all…

So I was picked to be in 001 class of mandarin and 103 class in listening and speaking(801 and 803 are the highest for foreigners for this semester). The first lecture in 001 was very easy, it was mainly about hello and where are you from?.
The 103 was a lot more interesting. The teacher noticed I know a bit of Chinese already. So she suggested me to take a higher class for 101 instead of 001
So.. today I tried out the new class and it went quite well, some words I didn’t know yet but according to the teacher I should be able to catch up quick.
Being in the second class of both mandarin and listening and speaking practice I’m quite relieved.

I met a lot of people already and as usual started to forget many names as well, which as always is quite embarrassing.

I’ll try and keep you al up to date, post some pictures on Facebook and let you know if anything happens:)

How’s the weather over there? (here it’s between 34 and 40 degrees)

Cheers,
Tommy

  • 09 Juni 2011 - 10:33

    Dad:

    Fantastic om te horen hoe het je gaat. We heben wel mailcontact, maar vooral over botellen. Klasse, dat ze zo snel doorhadden dat je al boven beginnersniveau uitstak. Het is hier 18 graden en een klein zonnetje, morgen voorspellen ze regen, weekend met Pinksteren knapt het weer wat op. Maarrrr Taiwan staat op
    max. 20 graden volgens de gegevens bi je reisverslag en jij zegt 30; beetje groot verschil wel! Fijn dat je het naar de zin hebt! Houen zo, houdoe
    Dad

  • 09 Juni 2011 - 10:42

    Marjorie:

    Hey Tommy, it sounds like you are doing great overthere. Enjoy and learn! Groetjes Marjorie

  • 09 Juni 2011 - 11:29

    Marianne:

    Heel leuk zo'n uitgebreide update over je belevenissen;) Keep it coming! Mandarijn lijkt me echt gruwelijk moeilijk. Is het de meest gesproken taal in China?
    Hier alles okee, Kai studeert binnenkort af en Ghani heeft een baan in Almere. En wij werken rustig voort... Groet, ook van Renato.

  • 09 Juni 2011 - 12:03

    Joke:

    Hai Tommy,
    het weer is integenstelling tot eerdere verwachtingen goed. Ik hoop dat het droog is op Beppe haar verjaardag.
    Wat een boeiend verslag weer. Wat een mooie ervaring weer. Eigenlijk best stoer dat je dat allemaal aanpakt . Petje af!
    Ik hoop ook snel wat foto's te zien!
    Ik zit op mijn werk dus ik moet het kort houden. Heel veel liefs uit Emmeloord xx Joke

  • 09 Juni 2011 - 14:43

    Vincent:

    Hallo Tommy,
    Ik vind het al heel knap dat je eerder al aan de vereenvoudigde schrijf/leeswijze bent begonnen.
    Succes!
    Vincent

  • 10 Juni 2011 - 08:25

    Afke:

    Ni Hao, thanks for the update. It is nice to read about your daily ongoings. I can just picture you peddaling to uni for your lessons, or in tight swimming trunks and a cap to match. I have no clue what stinky tofu smell's like, so I'll just imagine it is like a smelly French cheese, horrible on the outside, but good once it is in your mouth. I have been trying to find the student dorm Google maps, but have not been able to. I have been walking around outside the university with google streetview. Looks nice and green with trees with impressive roots. If you can find the locations (if you have the time that is) I would love to look around some more. Take care for now, and enjoy!

    Huggs

  • 10 Juni 2011 - 09:18

    André:

    Nice Blog! Erg leuk om te lezen! Hoop niet dat ie straks in het Chinees is als je nog een klas omhoog gaat oid. ;-)

  • 10 Juni 2011 - 09:20

    Tommy Sevens:

    ghehe,
    I think stinky tofu it's smell is indeed best comparable with smelly French chees,
    However the taste is very strong garlic in combination with something else, a bit sour and sweet, if i remember correct.
    and depending if you leave the chili on it, it will also be spicy.

    i'll try to include some pictures of the uni and my dorm on the nxt photo dump.

  • 10 Juni 2011 - 15:04

    Ymkje:

    dus lekker ouderwetsche tekens.... worden die nog gebruikt ook in het dagelijkse leven? Typ je trouwens nu ook in het chinees of moet je alles met de pen doen? Hoe zijn je tijden of wisselt dit telkens, kortom heb je een rooster die nog wat sight seeing toelaat? kuzzzzzzzzzzz

  • 10 Juni 2011 - 22:26

    Ben:

    Een geweldig avontuur alweer!
    en je mocht niet zwemmen in normale zwemkleding? ben benieuwd wat het dan is... Foto? :-)

    Ik zie dat je al weer indruk hebt gemaakt in het chinees en dat je genoeg mensen om je heen hebt!

    Blijf schrijven... Wij blijven lezen!

    Groet, Ben

  • 14 Juni 2011 - 06:08

    Ymkje:

    jaja FOTO!!! mèt badmuts graag.

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Tommy

Actief sinds 23 Sept. 2008
Verslag gelezen: 361
Totaal aantal bezoekers 119237

Voorgaande reizen:

30 December 2014 - 15 Mei 2015

Living in Asia

28 December 2012 - 16 Augustus 2013

Study exchange in Taiwan

03 Juni 2011 - 26 Augustus 2011

study @ FCU

05 Oktober 2008 - 24 Juli 2009

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: